NewsJuly 24, 2013

J. W. Marriot, Jr. Recieves 2009 ISHC Pioneer Award

L to R: Thomas Morone, Chair ISHC, Principal Warnick + Company (CA), LLC; J. W.
Marriott, Jr.; Angelos Loizou, President ISHC, Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Cyprus
February 1, 2009

J.W. Marriott, Jr., chairman and CEO of Marriott International, Inc.,
received the 2009 International Society of Hospitality Consultants (ISHC) Pioneer Award
at the Americas Lodging Investment Summit (ALIS), January 28, 2009. ISHC selected
Marriott to receive this honor based not only on his strategic leadership in expanding his
family restaurant business into 3,000 hotels worldwide, but also his extensive
involvement in various initiatives and organizations benefiting many sectors of the
industry over his 50-year career.
Known throughout the industry for his hands-on management style, Mr. Marriott has built
a highly-regarded culture that emphasizes the importance of Marriott’s associates and
recognizes the value they bring to the organization. Today, in company-operated and
franchised properties around the world, approximately 300,000 associates serve as the
face of Marriott International brands.
Marriott’s broad portfolio ranges from limited service to luxury hotels and resorts under
the flags of Marriott, JW Marriott, Renaissance, Bulgari, The Ritz-Carlton, Courtyard,
Residence Inn, SpringHill Suites, TownePlace Suites, and Fairfield Inn brand names.
The company also develops and operates vacation ownership resorts under the Marriott
Vacation Club International, The Ritz-Carlton Club, Grand Residences by Marriott, and
Horizons brands; operates Marriott Executive Apartments; and provides furnished
corporate housing through its Marriott ExecuStay division; operates conference centers; and manages golf courses.
Mr. Marriott serves as a director of the United States Naval Academy Foundation. He
also serves on the Board of Trustees of the National Geographic Society, The J. Willard
& Alice S. Marriott Foundation and the National Business Council. He is a member of
the executive committee of the World Travel & Tourism Council and the chairman of the
President’s Export Council, a presidential advisory committee on export trade. Mr.
Marriott is a member of the Secure Borders Open Doors Advisory Committee
(SBODAC), and a former member of the U.S. Travel and Tourism Advisory Board
(TTAB). In addition, he serves as Chairman of the Leadership Council of the Laura Bush
Foundation for America’s Libraries.
The ISHC Pioneer Award was established in 1996, honoring those in the lodging
community based on three criteria: active involvement in the industry, extensive
contribution to the industry, and personal/organizational attributes and qualities.