Pioneer Award

Established in 1996 by ISHC to recognize one individual each year for making an outstanding contribution, achievement and/or improvement in the hospitality industry.
Active Involvement in the Industry

The individual or organization is actively involved in consulting, planning, developing, marketing, managing and/or improving one or more dimensions of the hospitality industry which benefits developers, investors, operators, and guests such as:

  • Associations and organizations
  • Lodging establishments
  • Cruise ships
  • Educational institutions
  • Media (trade press)
  • Legal/litigation
  • Entertainment enterprises
Area of Contribution

Their contribution should benefit the hospitality industry in terms of one or more of the following:

  • Associations and organizations
  • New product development or re-positioning
  • Training and education
  • Trend-setting model
  • Profitability of the industry
  • Quality assurance
  • Strategic alliances
  • Diversity
  • Market research
Personal/Organizational Attributes & Qualities

In addition to their contribution, the individual or organization, on a consistent basis possesses certain attributes and adheres to professional standards which are recognized and respected by his/her peers:

  • Display integrity and ethics and use sound judgment
  • Demonstrate superior leadership
  • Display a commitment to quality service and professionalism
  • Be a role model and/or mentor to people wanting to enter or just entering the hospitality industry as well as to career people in the industry
  • Willingly and enthusiastically share his/her commitment to improving and advancing the hospitality industry by writing trade magazine articles as well as attending and speaking at conferences
  • Actively involved in one or more associations or organizations that promote and support the advancement of the hospitality industry through legislation, education and/or motivation

For more information on the Pioneer Award

Pioneer Award Recipients

  • Jean Gabriel Peres (2008) (Europe)
  • Jean-Claude Baumgarten (2007) (Europe)
  • James E. Burba (2007)
  • Stelios Haji-Ioannou (2006) (Europe)
  • H.P. Rama (2006)
  • Costakis Loizou (2005) (Europe)
  • Barry Sternlicht (2005)
  • Regis Bulot (2004) (Europe)
  • Christel DeHaan (2004)
  • Bill Kimpton (2002)
  • Jonathan M. Tisch (2001)
  • Michael A. Leven (2000)
  • Jack Vaughn (1999)
  • George Johnson (1998)
  • Randell A. Smith (1997)