NewsUncategorizedNovember 3, 2015

ISHC Chuck Pinkowski Service Award presented to Alan Benjamin

2015 Chuck Pinkowski Award_Alan Benjamin

Berlin, Germany 23 October 2015: Each year an ISHC member is recognized for his or her outstanding contribution of volunteer time to the Society with the Chuck Pinkowski Member Service Award. At this year’s Annual ISHC Conference in Berlin, the award was presented to two-time CapEx Committee Co-Chair (in 2014 and 2007) Alan Benjamin, President of Benjamin West, LLLP. Benjamin was recognized for the countless hours spent on CapEx (a study of capital expenditures in the hotel industry) over the past year, his expertise and contribution to the FF&E costs in previous year’s studies, as well his dedication to ISHC membership development and Friends of the Society sponsorship program since becoming a member in 2001.

“I am thrilled to earn this honor from the ISHC. I have been a member for 14 years and consider the group to be the preeminent hospitality consulting group in the world, in literally all fields of expertise. I enjoy the 1-on-1 continual education from peers in the society, and through the work I have done for the ISHC, the ability for me to continue to develop my craft as a global procurement specialist. Receiving this award from the ISHC is one of the highlights of my career. I look forward to continuing my work on behalf of the ISHC,” said Benjamin.

Each year ISHC members collectively contribute several hundred hours in volunteer time to help support ISHC projects and operations. Members are involved in helping support virtually all aspects of ISHC; from membership development, conference planning, marketing and promotion programs, special projects, fundraising to the leadership of the organization.

The Chuck Pinkowski Member Service award was established in 2000, in recognition of Chuck Pinkowski’s, Founding member and Executive Director of ISHC from 1989-2000, volunteer contributions to ISHC.

Executive Director of ISHC, Andrea Belfanti commented, “ISHC would not be what it is today without the tremendous commitment of volunteer time and energy from its members, which is why it is so important for us to continue to recognize members who go above and beyond in their contribution to the Society. The 2014 CapEx Study would not have been possible without Alan’s expertise and hard work. He is extremely deserving of this award and we want to thank him for his dedication to ISHC over the last 14 years.”

Previous award winners include David Brudney, Rick Swig, Ron Lustig, Jana Hesser, Judy King, Bruce Goodwin, Maurice Robinson, Bernard Delomenie, Drew Dimond, Rachel Roginsky, Rick Pastorino, Arne Gustafson, Tom Morone, Matt Arrants, Sean Hennessey and Jim Burba.


About ISHC

The International Society of Hospitality Consultants is truly The Leading Source for Global Hospitality Expertise, represented by over two hundred of the industry’s most respected professionals from across six continents. Collectively, ISHC members provide expert services in over fifty functional areas and have specialized skills in virtually every segment of the hospitality industry. ISHC is dedicated to promoting the highest quality of professional consulting standards and practices for the hospitality industry. Candidates undergo a rigorous screening process, ensuring that all ISHC members have a reputation of integrity and are qualified by their experience, training and knowledge to develop and express sound judgment on industry issues. Additional information about the organization, along with a directory of ISHC members, is available on the ISHC website at            

Media contact: Lauren Marshall, ISHC Senior Manager of Marketing & Membership Services
Phone: 678.735.9453